RSS

Decommissioning Altar Space

27 Feb

Or: when its time to let go, you gotta let go.

Today, 2/26, I finally took apart the majority of my altar for Odin. Its been time for a long time now.

It was Odin who brought me into Heathenry, and His was the first Northern Tradition altar I had in my home. I have a lovely Dryad Design’s statue; a scrying geode, feathers. All that remains is a greeting card with an image of a raven, which came with the statue, and a stick I brought back from Asgard, which sits between Loki’s space and Frigga’s, which is up,  but may also be modified.

Really, this should have happened ages ago, when I retired my Odin-hoop. (I make my own hoops. My first hoop had prayers and invocations to Odin written on it before being covered with tape.  The last time I used it was when I hooped for Him last summer, to end that chapter.) But I couldn’t bring myself around to it, despite the altar essentially being vacant at that point. I lit candles, made offerings, but…meh. Nothing.

My brother, an Odinsman, agreed with me that it was time for this altar to come down. What it comes down it is that essentially, Odin doesn’t want much to do with me, nor do I have much of anything to do with Him. Just because He’s the one who started me on this path doesn’t mean that He can or should be with me past that. Especially considering the turn my path has taken with Angrboda. (My brother also pointed out that as I do still have a shrine for Loki, that would be the perfect place to offer to Odin when I need to in the future. I’m also planning to keep my print of ‘Odin’s Secret’ hanging up!)

I find that, at least in my experience, its true that when you worship some of the Holy Powers, there are just some you can’t or shouldn’t work with when working with others; however I don’t feel this should carry over into Midgard! Angrboda and Odin are two you might not work with at the same time, but that certainly doesn’t mean Their people can’t, won’t or shouldn’t get along – my brother and I are a perfect example. As I’ve said, he’s Odin’s through and through – and I am Angrboda’s, mostly, and have little interaction with the Aesir. We get along like a house on fire. (That’s probably a terrible metaphor to use in this situation, but what the hell, why not.)

I have great respect for Odin. I am grateful that He put my feet on this path. (I sometimes I get the feeling I was a favour. At that time in my life, it took nothing less than *Odin Himself* showing up to get me to pay attention and get on the right track, else I might never have gotten to Her!)  I am grateful for every terrible lesson I learned from him – even the ones about how broken I could get and still be able to put it all back together. Odin taught me to be specific about how and what I ask, and about making sure I really, really want to know.

I am in no way saying that I will never hail or honor Odin – of course I will, I’m a bloody Heathen. I’m proud to count Odinspeople among my Kindred and community!

Hail to Odin!
Hail to Runatyr, seeker of wisdom!
Hail to the Wanderer, to the One-eyed one,
who seeks the wide world for wisdom.

Hail to the Burden of the Gallows, and of Gunnlod’s arms,
He who rests in Frigga’s embrace, Fulfiller of Desires,
Seducer, Wish-Bringer, Victory Giver!

Hail to the father of Baldur and Thor!
Hail to the Father of Hod and Hermod!
Hail to the Father of Vali and Vidar!
Hail to the Father of Bragi, Bringer of Poetry!

Hail to Sigtýr
Victory Bringer, and Father of Heros,
Hail to Spear Charger, Shield Shaker,
Hail to Glad in Battle, Lord of the Slain!
Hail to Odin!

-Call to Odin, by Úlfdís Járnviðar

Odin's Secrets by samflegal
Odin’s Secrets by samflegal on DeviantArt

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 27, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
